THE CHARLES A. THOMPSON AWARD

The Charles A. Thompson Memorial Award for Distinguished Service is named to honor the memory of the man who, up until his life was taken in 1977, was for many years Executive Director of the Inkster, MI Housing and Redevelopment Commission. Charlie served as president of the Michigan Chapter, as president of the North Central Regional Council, and on the NAHRO Board of Governors. Each year the NCRC president appoints a Thompson Award Selection Committee, which solicits nominations for the honor from among the eight state chapters, and from individuals within those chapters. From among the nominations received, the committee selects as recipient the person who most typifies the dedication of Thompson in his pursuit of better communities, adequate housing for all citizens, service to fellow man, and the high ideals of NAHRO.

Past recipients

- 1978 Mark Herley, Detroit, MI
- 1979 R. Clayton Jones, Pontiac, MI
- 1980 Chester Amedia, Youngstown, OH
- 1981 Bill Hammond, Chicago, IL
- 1982 Jim Guest, Omaha, NE
- 1983 Alice Nettle, Virginia, MN
- 1984 Vance Coleman, Milwaukee, WI
- 1985 Fred Lindstrom, Chicago, IL
- 1986 Homer Saunders, Detroit, MI
- 1987 Vicki Miles, Anna, IL
- 1988 Doris Kunkle, Lincoln, NE & Henry Rubin, Detroit, MI
- 1989 Frankie Boylan, Chicago, IL
- 1990 Al McIlwain, Canton, OH (Posthumously)
- 1991 Deborah Erlanson, Decatur, IL
- 1992 Sammie Smith, Benton Harbor, MI
- 1993 James Inglis, Livonia, MI
- 1994 Steve Falek, Milwaukee, WI
- 1995 Paulette Pool, Hastings, NE
- 1996 Tom Hannen, Fort Wayne, IN
- 1997 Robert Armstrong, Omaha, NE
- 1998 Branna Lindell, So. St. Paul, MN
- 1999 Roland Turpin, Dayton, OH
- 2000 Gerald Schock, Port Huron, MI
- 2001 Carlos Sanchez, Grand Rapids, MI
- 2002 Danethel Whitfield, Benton Harbor, MI
- 2003 Karen Bennett, Washburn, WI
- 2004 Ken Dey, Battle Creek, MI
- 2005 Michael Hagemeyer, Brazil, ID
- 2006 Elaine Wiseman, Kearney, NE
- 2007 Pati Toops, Fort Madison, IA
- 2008 Doug Rise, Bay City, MI
- 2009 Bill Jacobs, Macomb, IL
- 2010 Kim Holman-Short, Bloomington, IL
- 2011 Kay Hestekin, Eau Claire, WI
- 2012 Bill Pluta, Chicago, IL

- 2013 Gary Keller, Wellston, OH
- 2014 Brenda Coates, Peoria, IL
- 2015 Larry Williams, Freeport, IL
- 2016 Sheila Miller, Douglas County, NE
- 2017 Rick Moore, Evansville, IN
- 2018 Sharon Carlson, Belding, MI
- 2019 Alan Zais, Rockford, IL
- 2020 Barbara Dacy, Fergus Falls, MN
- 2021 Crystal Palmer, IL

#